Asian Hockey Federation announced schedule for Asia Cup

The Asian Hockey Federation (AHF), on Monday, reported the schedule for Hero Men’s Asia Cup 2017, which is to be held in Bangladesh in October this year. The 10th release of the quadrennial occasion will occur at the Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium in Dhaka, coming back to Bangladesh in first time since 1985. The competition will occur from October 11 to 22, 2017, the organization expressed in an official statement.

Presented in 1982, the inaugural Men’s Asia Cup was won by Pakistan, who also won the next two editions in 1985 and 1989. From that point, India (2003, 2007) and Korea (1993, 1999, 2009 and 2013) have likewise been champions in the nine edition played so far.

This year, the tournament will include have country Bangladesh alongside China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Oman and Pakistan.

India is the best positioned group among the competing teams at sixth position in the most recent World Rankings, while Korea, the present title holder, is positioned thirteenth. World number 12 Malaysia, after an incredible execution in the current Hockey World League semi-last in London, and world number 14 Pakistan round up the blend of teams.

Pakistan, India, Japan and Bangladesh are in Pool A, while Malaysia, Korea, China and Oman are in Pool B.