Imran Khan elected a new prime minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: The National Assembly has chosen Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan as the 22nd prime minsiter of Pakistan, over two decades after the previous commander of the Pakistan cricket team entered politics.

Imran, whose party cleared the July 25 general elections and summons the devotion of a majority of lawmakers in the Lower House of Parliament, will take oath of office on Saturday.

176 individuals from the National Assembly voted for the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman while his rival, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif, got 96 votes.