PML-N elects Shehbaz Sharif as permanent president of the party

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has chosen Shehbaz Sharif as parmanent president of party as the Central General Council met in Islamabad on Tuesday.

As per media reports, Shehbaz was chosen uncontested as no other applicant submitted documents. The Punjab Chief Minister presented his nomination papers from the party’s election commission .

Prior, PML-N pioneer Senator Asif Kirmani told media that party meeting will be held with a solitary direct plan toward choose the new president. Alongside different pioneers, Shehbaz Sharif and Maryam Nawaz went to the meeting at Convention Center, Islamabad.

Shehbaz was chosen as acting leader of PML-N on February 27, after Supreme Court banished Nawaz Sharif from holding the administration of a political party in its decision of Election Act 2017 case. The court commented that an individual precluded under Article 62 and 63 can’t fill in as the leader of a political party.

It was additionally chosen that Shehbaz will be chosen as permanent leader of PML-N after fulfillment of the due procedure in a later meeting to be hung on March 6.